The control window
The control window is shown below.
In the top section is shown information about the selection of files waiting to be converted.
- Files to convert
- This shows the total number of files waiting in the queue to be processed.
- Clear file list
- Clicking this button allows the file list to be cleared if you change your mind about files in the list. It will clear the whole list.
- File types
- This shows a breakdown of the different filetypes in the queued selection.
Process options
The middle section of the window allows a number of standard transformations to be applied. In this version the following transformations are available.
- Rotate/flip
- Resize
- Histogram
- Filter
- Colour
- Convert to greyscale
- Invert image colours
There is also the option to set the order in which the transformations are carried out. The transformation must be ticked for it to be actioned.
These are all described in detail in the next section.
File output settings
At the bottom of the window are the settings for the saving of the converted files.
- Save to
-
This shows the path in which the converted files will be saved. This
directory can be set in three ways.
- Click on the menu button to the right of the path field and drag the directory icon in to the destination directory
- Drag the destination directory from a filer display in to the path field. It must be in to the field, anywhere else in the window will result in ConvImgs searching the directory for suitable image files to be processed.
- For the masochists, the path may simply be entered from the keyboard.
- Save as
- This shows the format to which the files will be converted. The
format can be changed by clicking on the popup menu button to the
right of this field. This will open a small dialogue box, shown
below.
This allows the output filetype to be set. The JPEG quality may be set, for when saving as JPEG files. The SET button should be clicked to apply the new settings.
Action buttons
- Save settings
- At the bottom left of the control window is the Save settings button. Clicking this button will save all the current settings so that they will be remembered over a restart. This excludes the file list and the save path.
- Convert
- At the bottom right of the control window is the Convert button. Clicking this button will start the conversion process, assuming there are files waiting in the queue. The control window will close, and the status window will open. This is described here.
- Close
- The Close button will simply close the control window without starting any processing. The current state will be remembered. Clicking on the iconbar icon will reopen the window and any file lists will be present, so the process as set up can be started if required. Otherwise the file list can be cleared using the Clear file list button.